14601.1 VC states that “(a) no person shall drive a motor vehicle if his license to drive is suspended or revoked for reasons other than those set out in Section 14601, 14601.2 or 14601.5 if the person so driving is one is aware of the blocking or revocation.
In California, driving with a suspended driver’s license in violation of vehicle code 14601 VC is a misdemeanor. The exact penalties depend primarily on the reason your license was suspended or revoked, your ability to drive and whether you have a criminal record for driving with a suspended license.
If you’re pulled over in California while knowingly driving with a suspended driver’s license, don’t expect a fine for a simple traffic violation. You can be arrested and the consequences can be severe. A conviction can mean an offense on your record for the rest of your life.
In most cases, driving with a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor. A first misdemeanor conviction faces the driver up to 93 days in jail, a maximum fine of $500 and cancellation of license plates.
Driving without a license is a “wobbler” offense that can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a misdemeanor. If charged as a misdemeanor, the maximum penalty is six months in prison and a $1,000 fine. If charged as a violation, the maximum penalty is a $250 fine.
What are the penalties for driving without a license or with a suspended or revoked license? Imprisonment, significant fines, confiscation of the vehicle driven.
California Health and Safety Code 11377(a) HS defines the crime of possession of methamphetamine. In order to achieve a conviction, the prosecutor must be able to demonstrate several specific factors, commonly known as “elements of the crime”.
Vehicle Code 14601.4 VC is California law that makes it a felony to drive with a suspended or revoked driver’s license while causing bodily harm to someone. This section is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in county jail. The full language of the code section says: 14601.4.
Two-point ticket violations such as a DUI – VC 23152(a) or (b) or a VC 14601.2, VC 14601.4, or VC 14601.5 Driving with a suspended license conviction will remain in your DMV for 13 Entry years – after 13 years you can request the DMV to delete (remove) this violation from your file.
If you are uninsured and have an accident, your license will be revoked for four years. After one year it can be returned if you provide the DMV with proof of insurance and keep it for the next three years.
Any count placed on your driver’s file will remain there for two years from the date of your conviction. Michigan law does not allow the SOS to prematurely deduct driver’s license points from your record. A judicial cancellation of a traffic offense is also not possible.
If you get pulled over and found you’re working without a Michigan license, you could face legal trouble. A first offense for driving with a suspended, revoked, or expired driver’s license can result in a prison sentence of up to 93 days. In addition, you could be fined up to $500.
To get your driver’s license reinstated, you must pay any fines owed. You must also pay the $125 reinstatement fee to get your driver’s license reinstated. You may need to request a hearing from the SOS before you can get your driver’s license back. You may use the Michigan Department of State’s Request for Hearing form.