Is Deathtouch Only Combat Damage?

FAQs Jackson Bowman July 26, 2022

The rule that causes creatures dealt damage by a source with deathtouch to be destroyed applies to all damage, not just combat damage.

Does preventing combat damage stop Deathtouch?

As we discussed a few weeks ago, protection does several things, such as: This means that deathtouch doesn’t apply, since avoided damage isn’t considered dealt.

Is Deathtouch considered damage?

Deathtouch is a static ability that causes any damage dealt to a creature by a source to be considered lethal damage.

Does Deathtouch work while defending?

Creatures with deathtouch deal damage during the regular combat damage step. Luckily, when you block a creature with deathtouch with a creature with first strike or double strike, your creature deals damage in the first damage step before the creature with deathtouch can return fire.

Does Deathtouch work when creatures fight?

Damage is dealt simultaneously and by the creatures themselves, so abilities like deathtouch, lifelink, and infect work as usual. Damage dealt during combat isn’t combat damage, so abilities like first strike and double strike have no effect.

How do you counter Deathtouch?

Indestructible is a fantastic counter to deathtouch. With the Indestructible ability, a creature can’t be destroyed normally by combat damage or by abilities that say “destroy” on them.

Does Deathtouch beat indestructible?

Indestructible creatures also ignore deathtouch. Normally, a creature is destroyed when it takes damage from a creature with deathtouch. But since indestructible creatures cannot be destroyed, they are immune.

Can you regenerate Deathtouch?

Deathtouch and Regeneration

You can regenerate from Deathtouch by paying the regeneration cost. If a creature that’s blocking or blocked by a creature with deathtouch is dealt enough combat damage to destroy it, its controller doesn’t have to pay twice a regeneration cost to keep it alive.

Does Deathtouch work with 0 power?

No. Deathtouch still requires damage to be dealt: 702.2b Any non-zero combat damage assigned to a creature from a source with deathtouch is considered deadlier Consider damage regardless of that creature’s toughness.

How does Deathtouch block work?

Deathtouch creature splits four points of damage between the two blockers, at its controller’s choice. It deals three damage (equal to its toughness) to the first blocker and one to the second, while the two blockers deal six damage to the deathtouch creature. It dies having taken six damage.

How does Deathtouch work with trample?

When an attacking creature with deathtouch and trample becomes blocked, the attacking creature first assigns damage to the creatures blocking it.

How does trample interact with Deathtouch?

Because Trample deals the excess damage needed to destroy the blocker to the opponent’s life, and deathtouch means it only takes 1 damage to destroy the blocker when If I had 4/3 with deathtouch and had trample and it was blocked by a 2/2, would it do 2 or 3 damage to the opponent?



© 2022

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.
Privacy Policy