Tumblr has since added a new way to block anonymous users based on their IP address. If you receive a comment from “Anonymous”, click the Ignore button next to the user’s name and click OK to confirm. This will prevent anyone from that IP address from doing so to comment or send you a message.
You can now mute mobile notifications for individual posts
From the post: Tap the meatball menu in the top right (●●● ). Corner of the hand, slide your finger to mute and confirm your decision.
We don’t tell people when you block them, but they might find out for themselves if, for example, they visit your blog, try to reblog one of your posts, and are blocked from doing so .
Blocking someone on Tumblr primarily prevents that user from communicating with you in any way. He can’t see you on his dashboard, and you won’t see him on your dashboard. He also cannot send you any messages.
On Tumblr you cannot remove followers; Your followers must unfollow you on their own. However, you can ignore people to prevent them from seeing your posts on their dashboard and contacting you. You can also report users for spam or harassment if you block them.
Notifications show additional updates on your dashboard, including actions like reblogs and new followers. Also, if you ignore someone on Tumblr, you won’t be able to see them in your notes. If an ignored user writes a note on one of your posts, they won’t be listed.
Urban Dictionary defines softblocking as “A phrase commonly used by Twitter users to describe blocking another person and then immediately unblocking.” Essentially, it forces the blocked party to unknowingly unfollow the user in order to stop interacting with the user’s tweets.
Image credits: Tumblr
Adult content is currently blocked.) “Some content is flagged as sensitive if it may not be suitable for everyone, but doesn’t violate our Community Guidelines b>,” Tumblr told TechCrunch. “It is this content that this web switch is addressing.
“The easiest way to tell if you’ve been blocked by an Android user is to call,” says Lavelle. Just like an iPhone, listen for a redirect to voicemail or play a pre-recorded message.
Any idea what the invisible followers are? Any account whose primary blog has been unsubscribed can continue to follow you, increasing your follower count. However, because Tumblr shows accounts by their primary blog and Tumblr hides blogs that have ended, you won’t see them in your followers list.
Who is following me? You can also see a list of your blog’s current followers. To see this list on the web, click on the account menu (the little man), then scroll down and select “Followers”. In the app, tap on the account icon (the little man ). Then tap the gear icon to view your settings.
Remember: the post will not be published on your blog and you are the only one who can see it. If you share the URL of a private post, other users can access and view the post. Private posts in secondary blogs/group blogs can be seen by other admins or members.