All gelatin-containing products manufactured by Ferrara Candy Company contain pork gelatin. Each ingredient is regularly tested to determine which raw materials are best suited to maintain the quality of Ferrara confectionery.
“Trolli Sour Gummi Peach Rings Halal” make the heart beat faster – not only for halal people. The combination of crispy-sour sugaring and fruity peach aroma sweetens the day for all those with a sweet tooth.
The Trolli product range includes: Original, Sour, Soft, Special, Liquorice, Extra Fruity, Marshmallows, Gelatine-free, Gluten, Vegetarian, Lactose-free and Halal products.
Corn Syrup, Sugar, Gelatin, Modified Starch (Corn), Fumaric Acid, Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Calcium Lactate, Sodium Lactate, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Titanium Dioxide [ Color], Yellow 5, Red 40, Yellow 6, Blue 1.
These sweet, cuddly soft “Trolli Classic Bears” are halal-certified according to Islamic criteria. You can rely on it.
In short, beef gelatine is halal if it only contains the body parts of the cow and the animal is slaughtered in strict accordance with Islamic law.
Gelatin is used as an additive in many chewy candies to create a jelly-like and chewy texture, and is (unfortunately) one of the ingredients in Sour Patch Kids. Gelatine is made from cow skins, pig skins, animal bones and sometimes other animal parts and is really grim and best avoided if you’re following a vegan lifestyle.
Although most Haribo use pork or beef gelatin, some of them use starch instead – but their classic Starmix, Tangfastics or Cola bottles are strictly for meat eaters.
At the time of writing (July 2019), Skittles contain no animal-derived ingredients. Therefore, Cones are Halal.
Starburst (contains bovine gelatin) Gummy Worms (contains gelatin) Red Candy (contains red dye made from the dried bodies of female bugs) Nerds (contains pork gelatin)
Most gummy bears aren’t even vegetarian
Most gummy bears contain gelatin, which is derived from the cartilage, bones, hooves or skin of slaughtered pigs and sometimes other animals.
INGREDIENTS: CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, GELATIN, MODIFIED FOOD STARCH (CORN), FUMARIC ACID, LACTIC ACID. CITRIC ACID, SODIUM CITRATE, CALCIUM LACTATE, SODIUM LACTATE, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, TITANIUM DIOXIDE [COLOR], YELLOW 5, RED 40, YELLOW 6, BLUE 1.
The gummy bears provided are not halal. I know this because the halal gummy bears are labeled as such and say “beef gelatine” instead of “gelatine”. I am very disappointed as I was hoping to give these to my Muslim friends during Ramadan.
If the candy packaging says “Made in Turkey” or “Product of Turkey”, it is a HALAL-certified bovine gelatine product. If the candy packaging says “Made in Germany”, “Made in Austria”, “Product of Germany” or “Product of Austria”, it was made with pork gelatine.”
May contain Wheat and its by-products,Sesame seeds and its by-products,Crustaceans and their by-products,Eggs and their by-products,Fish and their by-products,Soybeans and their by-products,Milk and their by-products,Nuts and their by-products,Peanuts and their by-products derivatives .
Foods like jelly beans, marshmallows and other gelatin-based foods also usually contain pork by-products and are not considered Halal. Products like vanilla extract and toothpaste can also contain alcohol! Muslims generally do not eat meat that has also come into contact with pork.
Starburst products in the United States typically contain beef or pork gelatin in the ingredients. As such, Starburst are NOT Halal.
in the US
Pork gelatin is the gelatin that contains pork. In contrast, beef, fish and chicken gelatine are pork-free. Both powdered and leaf gelatine can be made from any animal.
Unfortunately not every nerd taste is halal. Some contain carmine, an insect-derived food coloring. Here’s an email from Willy Wonka Candy Company: “Thanks for contacting Wonka® Nerds® Rope.