Yes, GroupMe will notify each contact of your name change.
You can change your GroupMe name by editing your profile. You can also change your nickname per chat, so you can have different nicknames in different chats.
If you leave a group, a message will appear in the chat box letting users know you’re leaving. Your best chance of covering up your leaving is by having other notifications in the group pile up and your fellow users only scrolling through them hours later.
Your group’s name will be listed below the group picture at the top of the settings window. Clicking the Edit button will open a gray text box where you can edit your group name. Click on the group name in the gray text box. This allows you to change the current name of the group, or delete it and enter a new one.
We have confirmed that GroupMe does not notify its users when they are removed from the group. But does it at least let them know who did it? Not quite. If you suspect a specific person, you won’t be able to tell if that person deleted you from the group.
Edit your alias
Say “Hey Google, open the Assistant settings” on your Android smartphone or tablet. Or go to the Assistant settings. Make your changes. Tap OK.
Use your first two initials (or both initials if you don’t have a middle name) to create a nickname. For example, someone named “Thomas James” might be “TJ” or someone named “Mary Katharine” might be named “MK”. Not all initials work as nicknames. Make sure yours rolls off your tongue.
Use ‘#mute’ to mute a single group. This will stop you from being notified of anything from that group until you unmute them. As far as I can tell, no one gets notified when you mute a group, so this might be a better option if you really don’t want to notify people.
You can’t delete your GroupMe messages, so think twice before you hit the send button. You might be able to clear your chat history or hide the messages, but it’s not the same thing. The only way to completely delete a chat is to end a group (but only one you created), but that will also delete the entire conversation.
This means that notifications are disabled for this contact. You would have to turn it back on for that contact to stop seeing the single-line bell.
You can create and manage groups simply by sending text messages – no app or smartphone required.
The first time you share your location on GroupMe, you must set location permissions on your device. Always allow allows GroupMe access to share your location anytime. Allow only when using app turns on location sharing while using the GroupMe app.