Does Deathtouch Kill Indestructible?

FAQs Jackson Bowman August 21, 2022

Indestructible creatures also ignore deathtouch. Normally, a creature is destroyed when it takes damage from a creature with deathtouch. But since indestructible creatures cannot be destroyed, they are immune.

What kills indestructible?

A creature with indestructible can die from anything that isn’t damage (Lightning Bolt) that doesn’t specifically use the word “destroy” (Doomblade). And of course, they can be exiled, returned to their owner’s hand, or returned to their owner’s library.

Does Deathtouch negate indestructible?

Is Desthtouch indestructible? No, deathtouch deals “lethal damage” to creatures, indestructible creatures can’t be killed by “lethal damage”..

Can you destroy an indestructible?

702.12b A permanent with indestructible can’t be destroyed. Such permanents aren’t destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the status-based action that checks for lethal damage (see rule 704.5g).

Does a 0 1 Deathtouch kill?

No. Deathtouch still requires damage to be dealt: 702.2b Any non-zero combat damage assigned to a creature from a source with deathtouch is considered lethal damage, regardless of that creature’s toughness. p>

Can you counter indestructible?

Yes, you can. The entirety of the rules for indestructible is that a creature with indestructible can’t be destroyed: 702.12a Indestructible is a static ability.

Do counters work on indestructible?

Can an indestructible creature be killed by counters? I already used it as an example, but yes, you can use counters to kill indestructible creatures. -1/-1 counters are obviously the best choice if you just want to lower their toughness, but you can get creative with them.

Can an instant destroy an indestructible creature?

Yes, indestructible creatures are legal targets for spells/abilities that say “destroy target creature”. The spell does resolve, but if it attempts to destroy the creature, the rule prevents 700.4 this.

Does protection from black stop Deathtouch?

Does protection from a color prevent deathtouch? The short answer here is yes. For example, protection from black prevents all damage done by black creatures and spells to anything that has that protection. Deathtouch means any amount of damage counts as lethal damage.

Does wrath of God destroy indestructible creatures?

Indestructible creatures survive a Wrath because their ability (“cannot be destroyed“) interacts specifically with the word “destroy” on the Wrath of God card. Creatures with veil only interact and care only with the word “Target” on a card.

Do board wipes remove indestructible creatures?

Most board wipes “destroy” creatures, so one way to protect your creatures (and permanents) is to buff them with the “indestructible” keyword.

Does toxic deluge get around indestructible?

Poison Tide can kill indestructible creatures! Blightsteel Colossus – or even a Marit Lage Token in some cases – can be swamped by this sorcery.

How do you get around indestructible MTG?

Does Hexproof stop Deathtouch?

Since deathtouch doesn’t target a creature, curseproof doesn’t protect a creature from deathtouch. Instead, the hexproof creature is dealt damage as normal and is destroyed as a result. The same goes for ward and shroud, keywords with similar effects.

Does double strike negate Deathtouch?

Creatures with deathtouch deal damage during the regular combat damage step. Luckily, when you block a creature with deathtouch with a creature with first strike or double strike, your creature deals damage in the first damage step before the creature with deathtouch can return fire.

Can you regenerate Deathtouch?

Deathtouch and Regeneration

You can regenerate from Deathtouch by paying the regeneration cost. If a creature that’s blocking or blocked by a creature with deathtouch is dealt enough combat damage to destroy it, its controller doesn’t have to pay twice a regeneration cost to keep it alive.

What does Hexproof protect against?

Curseproof is an evergreen keyword ability that prevents a permanent or player from becoming the target of spells or abilities played by opponents.

Can you exile Hexproof?

Can a creature with hexproof be exiled? As long as you exile the hexproof creature with a spell or ability that says “exile every creature” or “exile all creatures,” then yes. If you try to exile a creature with something like Swords to Plowshares, it won’t work.

Does Hexproof prevent Counterspells?

The important difference here is that the creature spell doesn’t stop being a spell and starts being a creature until the creature spell resolves. The creature is hexproof, the creature spell is not. As such, curseproof does not prevent the creature spell from being targeted by a counterspell.

Can you exile indestructible cards?

Indestructible cards can be exiled by cards like Banishing Light, which removes them from the battlefield instead of destroying them. Players can also reduce an indestructible card’s toughness to zero, which will cause the player to immediately put the card into their graveyard as it technically does no damage.



© 2022

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.
Privacy Policy