Are pop tarts vegan? Believe it or not, some store-bought pop tarts are vegan! The unfrosted versions of blueberry, strawberry, and brown sugar cinnamon are all accidentally vegan.
A: In the United States, the gelatin in Frosted Pop-Tarts® is derived from beef and is used to aid in the texture of the product. Plain (unfrosted) Pop-Tarts® contain no gelatin.
Each of the frosted flavors contain these ingredients, although the three non-frosted flavors are suitable for vegans. The Unfrosted Strawberry Pop-Tart is one of the three vegan flavors along with Unfrosted Blueberry and Unfrosted Brown Sugar Cinnamon.
Gelatine is not vegetarian and certainly not vegan. Unfortunately, millions of vegetarians and vegans could actually be unknowingly consuming animal-based raw materials, as the list of products containing gelatin seems to get longer every day.
The two main non-vegan ingredients in most pop tarts are milk, which also comes in the form of whey, and gelatin. Unfortunately, every frosted pop tart flavor contains gelatin in the frosting, but there are still three very delicious non-frosted pop tart flavors that are vegan-friendly.